Product Review: Reebok CrossFit Lifter

Game. Changer.

Photo Cred; CorssFit Store Powered by Reebok

Photo Cred; CorssFit Store Powered by Reebok

I say that a lot, don’t I? Without sounding dramatic it’s true. These really did change the game for how I viewed the often difficult olympic lifts that can be incorporated in CrossFit workouts.

My gym (or box, whatever you want to call it) goes through a new lifting cycle of two lifts every two months. At the start of the cycle we test out with our 1 rep max and then follow Wendlers 5/3/1 program over the span of eight weeks, alternating the two lifts once a week. At the end of the eight weeks you retest for a new 1 rep max to see if you’ve hit a PR.

When we were going through the lifting cycle of front squat one of my coaches noticed that my left heel would come up as I got lower in my squat each time. To work on this he placed a 1.5 inch weight under my heal and told me to try it again. He said this adds the same affect of wearing oly lifting shoes. With the weights under my heels I was able to get below parallel in my squat and throw on much more weight than I thought I could handle and still feel confident in my form.

I was apprehensive to spend the money on these bad boys. They weren’t cheap, and frankly, I didn’t think I was “good enough” to need these kind of shoes. But, if you want to get better and stronger in your lifts then you need the right gear to help you along the way. So, I bit the bullet and purchased them and have improved ever since.

I’m not saying the shoes are what make me stronger or a better athlete, but they help with my form and if you lift weights of any sorts know that good form is key.

If you have bad ankle mobility and can’t seem to keep those heels on the ground when squatting, then I highly recommend these shoes for you. They will help change the way you lift and get you closer to your next PR.

Happy lifting!

About Fit With Lo

I'm your average girl working as a PR professional in Washington, DC and documenting my passion for fitness, food and family. Thanks for joining me on my trek to wellness
This entry was posted in CrossFit, Gear and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

