Farmers Market and an Easy Recipe

Hi Folks! Sorry for the delay in getting a post up, but this past weekend was crazy hectic and the only chance I had to sit down at a computer I spent it SLEEPING.

I’ve got one quick recipe I wanted to share with y’all that I threw together last night. Well, I shouldn’t say I threw it together because I got it from PaleOMG (yet again!) and switched a few things up.

Almost Five Ingredient Pizza Spaghetti Pie. It was easy and turned out to be delicious. Check out the recipe here. I’m not a fan of italian sausage so I substituted chicken instead and used a small can of tomato sauce instead of pizza sauce. (I know, they’re basically the same thing but no sugar in tomato sauce.) I also added garlic because you can just never have too much garlic! Next time, I plan to add bacon- because I feel the same about bacon as I do garlic. It was yummy and will last me for a few meals this week, which, I need since I wasn’t able to do ANY food prep on Sunday!

Nothing fancy, but it sure tastes good!

Nothing fancy, but it sure tastes good!

Yesterday a couple coworkers and I took a little walk down to CityCenter DC for the FarmFresh Market they host every Tuesday. Who would have thought that you’d find a farmers market in the middle of the city? Not me. Everything was fresh and from local farmers in Virginia and Maryland- it was great! I threw some yellow squash and zuccini on the stove last night and sauteed them with a little OMghee and lots of garlic (duh) and salt & pepper.  Voila! I have a side of veggies to go with my spaghetti pie. Whole30 day 9 and still going strong!

CityCenter FreshFarm Market

CityCenter FreshFarm Market

Zuccini and yellow squash sauteed with OMGhee, garlic, salt and pepper. Easy peasy!

Zuccini and yellow squash sauteed with OMGhee, garlic, salt and pepper. Easy peasy!

Weekend Recap:
– Successful engagement party for my brother and his fiance!
– Successful wedding dress shopping for my FSIL! She said yes to the dress! (sorry, I had to)
– Little to no sleep all weekend, but well worth it to spend so much time with family

Stay tuned for a gear review of the new outfit I received from Fabletics last week.

Happy eating and farmers market shopping!

About Fit With Lo

I'm your average girl working as a PR professional in Washington, DC and documenting my passion for fitness, food and family. Thanks for joining me on my trek to wellness
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

