Saturday WOD & Skill Work

Happy Saturday! Is it just me, or do y’all LIVE for your weekends too? And really, how is two days a substantial amount of time to rest and relax from FIVE days of work work work? I agree, it’s not.

I’ve got to tell ya, this week has been ROUGH. I don’t want to blame the Whole30 but man, my exhaustion has lasted longer than it did the last time I did this. A good night of sleep is KEY to this challenge and getting the results you want– but even though I got at least 8 hours of sleep every night I still felt like a walking zombie all day. (I also didn’t make it to the gym ONCE this week– I’m sure that has something to do with it, too.) Regardless, we’re on day 13 and holding strong!

I got back in the gym this morning and made up for lost time. At my gym, Saturday WODs are the toughest of the week. Today was a partner WOD and I love them, but you can usually tell that it’s going to be hard since you can break up the work with someone else. Today was no exception:

In Teams of Two:
TBA AMRAP
5 Strict Pull-ups (we scaled to ring rows)
10 Deficit Push-ups
15 Jumping Air Squats

Each parter would take turns once they finished 1 set of all the movements above. The twist was that we didn’t know how long the AMRAP was going to be, hence the TBA. Our coach broke it up into two rounds of time for us. I want to say the first round was about 12 minutes- and my partner and I finished 6 sets plus 14 reps- but I’m not 100% sure. I try not to pay attention to the clock. The second round we were supposed to try to beat the number of sets, but again, didn’t know how long we would have to complete it. The second round was definitely shorter than the first and my partner and I gassed through it but we still came up short with a total of 5 sets plus 26 reps. Looking at the movements and the reps you’d think it was going to be “easy” but those are the ones that always trick you.

After the WOD I stuck around and did some skill work and focused on my back squat with this sequence of work:

Every Minute on the Minute (EMOM) for every 2 minutes
6 reps @ 65% = 90 lbs
4 reps @ 75% = 105 lbs
2 reps @ 85% = 115 lbs
6 reps @ 75% = 105 lbs
4 reps @ 85% = 115 lbs
2 reps @ 90-95% = 120 lbs
2 reps @ 90-95% = 120 lbs

GHD Sit-ups: 3 sets of 10
GHD hip extensions: 3 sets of 10

The percentage is based off of my one rep max of 160 lbs. I scaled down to base it off of 150-155 lbs since I was lazy and took a week off of the gym and had just done 80+ jumping air squats prior. Walking should be real easy tomorrow.

GHD stands for Glute Ham Developers. AMRAP stands for As Many Rounds As Possible. There is your CrossFit terminology lesson of the day.

Now, I’m home recovering with this delicious post WOD meal and my beloved foam roller. This is one of my go-to meals when I’m crunched for time. Two fried eggs (try not to break the yoke like I did!) cooked in coconut oil w/ salt & pepper and 1/2 an avocado. Easy peasy and it packs a punch with the protein and good fats.

Post WOD yummies. Not pictured: a banana because I could eat 10 of those a day and never get tired of them.

Post WOD yummies. Not pictured: a banana because I could eat 10 of those a day and never get tired of them.

I’m also addicted to Coconut flavored La Croix. Did you know it’s the only sparkling water that is Whole30 compliant? I was never a sparkling water fan until I started the Whole30. It satisfies my craving for a sugary carbonated drink and is so delicious!

Alright friends, I need to get ready to head out to the boonies to see Miranda Lambert play a show with some of my girlfriends!  I know I still owe you all a gear review for my Fabletics outfit and I promise it’s coming.

Happy squatting– enjoy your weekend!

About Fit With Lo

I'm your average girl working as a PR professional in Washington, DC and documenting my passion for fitness, food and family. Thanks for joining me on my trek to wellness
This entry was posted in CrossFit and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

