NPGL: DC Brawlers vs. Philadelphia Founders

On Tuesday night me and a few friends went to watch the DC Brawlers take on the Philadelphia Founders in their first home match. (The Brawlers currently lead the Grid rankings right now—woot woot!) I’ve watched the CrossFit Games and seen a few competitions take place at my local gym so I had a general idea of what the match would consist of but I have to tell you- the Grid is no joke. The workouts are intense and just when you think it’s time to give them a break—nope, they roll right into the next set of movements.

Match setup. Photo Cred: NPGL

Match setup. Photo Cred: NPGL

Each match is two hours and features two 10 person teams (5 men and 5 women) that go head to head in 11 different races. There are 3 different match formats and the Brawlers and Founders were completing the McKinley. It was no joke. Movements for the race consists of thrusters, muscle ups, free standing hand stand push-ups, hang cleans, chest-to-bar pull-ups, burpees, power snatches, overhead squats, box jumps, etc. etc. These men and women competing are incredible. Their level of fitness is out of this world.

The Brawlers took the lead early on winning 10 out of the 11 matches. Each race was close with the Founders giving the home team a run for their money. I know I am biased, but DC has some serious athletes on this team and I think they will be hard to beat in the first season.

As a side note, they also have a lot of crowd interaction. My friend won four tickets to the Grid Championship in Las Vegas in October for answering  a trivia question correctly. Here we come Vegas! At the end of the match, members from both teams go up into the concord of the arena to greet fans. As we were walking out we saw two members of the Brawlers walk right up to a group of fans and introduce themselves.  I think it is a great way to build a fan base around this new sport.

Unfortunately, I didn’t use my head and bring my camera with me. I had my phone, but it’s so old that most of the pictures came out blurry. Here are some of the good shots I was able to get:

Taylor Stallings doing work on some hang cleans. She threw these up like they were NOTHING.

Taylor Stallings doing work on some hang cleans. She threw these up like they were NOTHING.

Team Captain, Tim Carroll on the Thruster Ladder

Team Captain, Tim Carroll on the Thruster Ladder

Taylor Stallings, Abby Graham and Lindsay Menerey (female team captain) doing the final power snatches of this race.

Taylor Stallings, Abby Graham and Lindsay Menerey (female team captain) doing the final power snatches of this race.

The DC Brawlers take on the New York Rhinos at home again on September 6th. I’m hoping to round up another group of friends to see if we can keep the winning streak alive! Brawlout DC!

Happy Gridding!

About Fit With Lo

I'm your average girl working as a PR professional in Washington, DC and documenting my passion for fitness, food and family. Thanks for joining me on my trek to wellness
This entry was posted in CrossFit, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

