31 Heroes Workout to Remember

Website-Banner

 

On Saturday my gym hosted its annual 31 Heroes fundraiser. This is a nationally known workout in honor of 30 service members and one military service dog that were killed in a helicopter crash in Afghanistan in 2011. CrossFit affiliates all over the country host this workout at their gym raising money for different organizations that benefit service members and their families. This year, my gym had a total of 98 people sign up to participate in the workout. Here is the workout:

AMRAP 31 minutes
8 Thrusters (155/105)

6 Rope Climbs (15′ ascent)
11 Box Jumps (30/24″)
400m Run with 45#/25# pack

Partner WOD. Partner #1 will perform the above listed work, while partner #2 runs a 400m with the weighted pack. When partner #2 completes the run, partner #1 starts a 400m run, while partner #2 picks up in the WOD where their partner left off.

 

My partner and I after the workout!

My partner and I after the workout!

My partner and I finished a total of 4 rounds and 7 thrusters before the time ran out. We scaled the thruster weight to 65# and substituted the rope climbs with pull-ups; 6 pull-ups per rope climb, so a total of 36. Somehow with the way my partner and I were running, she ended up doing majority of the pull-ups and I did all of the box jumps and thrusters. I like box jumps! But I cannot say the same thing for thrusters…

Thrusters are not my favorite.

Thrusters are not my favorite.

This is one of my favorite fundraiser workouts my gym puts on. The military community holds a special place in my heart and it’s refreshing to see so many people come out and support this cause! After all of the heats were finished the coaches broke out a keg and had a food truck come by for a few hours. Everyone stuck around for a little while and dished on how tough the WOD was but how great it was at the same time!

My heat after we all completed the WOD

My heat after we all completed the WOD

I hope everyone has had a relaxing Labor Day weekend so far! After the workout on Saturday it was BBQ and College Football time. GEAUX TIGERS!  It’s unofficially the last weekend of summer so I hope all of you have gotten outside and enjoyed the time with family and friends.

My coworkers and I are ALMOST DONE with the Whole30! Only 2 more weeks left! I’m on the hunt for some good recipes to finish these last 2 weeks out and will post what I find later this week. I’ve really enjoyed trying out new recipes with this challenge. Perhaps one day I’ll be able to put my own recipes together to post on here! One day!

Happy Labor Day!

 

 

About Fit With Lo

I'm your average girl working as a PR professional in Washington, DC and documenting my passion for fitness, food and family. Thanks for joining me on my trek to wellness
This entry was posted in CrossFit and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

