I’m Running a Marathon in 2015!

Last week I went for a run. What’s the big deal? It wasn’t a long one. If anyone reading this actually knows me then they know how much I don’t like running so I never voluntarily do it. THAT’S the big deal.
 
 I got to the gym too late for the 630 WOD and still had time to kill before the 730 started so I figured I’d warmup with a 2 mile run. I passed runners that were clearly doing more than 2 measly miles. They had their CamelBaks on, their water belts bouncing and the grimaces on their face said it all: it’s peak Marathon training time.
 
This brought me back to my marathon training. This time last year I was around week 13 of my 18 week training program and starting to rethink the whole “hey lets run a marathon!” thing. Long distance running just isn’t something that comes easy to me, so training was a struggle for me from day one. 
 
Marathon training (let alone actually running a marathon) is not for the faint of heart. It takes over your summer vacations, your weekends and your mornings or evenings during the week. For about 4 months, your schedule revolves around when you can get your training runs in. Delightful, huh?
 
As you build up mileage you start to experience everything you’ve read about in your marathon training prep. You understand why you want to keep those toenails as short as possible. You buy more Body Glide than you ever thought possible. Energy chews/goo become a part of your weekly grocery list. You spend ridiculous amounts of money to find the perfect outfit that will be comfortable for 10+ miles. Your appetite gets so big that you wonder if this is what it feels like to be pregnant. But eventually something clicks, and you start to feel yourself getting stronger. 
 
Stronger, physically AND mentally. Running ten miles becomes easy and you tell yourself to ATTACK those long runs every weekend. At the end of each run you might feel miserable, drained and exhausted- but you feel a sense of accomplishment because you just completed a serious feat and your are one step closer to being ready to cross that finish line.  And let me tell you, there is no sweeter feeling than crossing that finish line and getting your finisher medal! 
 
Me and my finisher medal at the 2013 MCM!

Me and my finisher medal at the 2013 MCM!

 
Now, after running my brief 2 miles and seeing all the serious runners out there you might think that I got the itch to finally sign up for another marathon, right? Right. Sort of. I’m in no hurry, but I’ve been thinking a lot lately that after “taking a year off from running” I’ll put myself in the lottery to run the MCM next year. So here it is. My accountability. I’m saying it here so folks can see it and hold me to it. I will run the Marine Corps Marathon in 2015!
 
Oh boy! I’m getting anxious just thinking about it. My best friend is a running guru and training for her 3rd marathon. I’ve asked her to do a few guest posts on here. I’ll introduce her later this week and she will have some of the best running tips and training programs for runners at all levels so be sure to stay tuned!
 
Sorry for the lag in posting lately, y’all! My days have been jam packed and blogging has been pushed aside. I will be better about it this week! On Tuesday me and a few colleagues are trying out the new Soul Cycle that opened up in DC and I’ll be writing a review– I haven’t been to spin class in years so it should be great!
 
Happy running to all you marathoners out there!
 
My friend Sam and I at Mile 10 at the 2014 MCM-- still smiling at this point!

My friend Sam and I at Mile 10 in the 2013 MCM– still smiling at this point!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
About Fit With Lo

I'm your average girl working as a PR professional in Washington, DC and documenting my passion for fitness, food and family. Thanks for joining me on my trek to wellness
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m Running a Marathon in 2015!

  1. ishouldrun says:

    Great post. I miss DC. Congrats on your MCM finish last year! I’m running it this year and I’m pretty excited.

    Like

    • Fit With Lo says:

      Thanks, your blog looks awesome! MCM is the only marathon I’ve ever run but it really is so great! I’ll be there cheering folks on along the route and I’m sure it’ll get my blood flowing to get back out there and start running again 🙂 Thanks for stopping by– and good luck with your training runs!

      Like

  2. Pingback: A Fresh Start! | Fit With Lo

Leave a Reply

