Fitness Class Review: Soul Cycle

photo-7

On Tuesday I tried something new! Unless you live under a rock then you’ve probably heard about the newest fitness craze making its way around the country– Soul Cycle.

This trendy spin studio opened up five weeks ago in DC and is famous for its celebrity following in NYC. (I mean if Oprah loves it then it HAS to be great, right?) I’ve done spin classes before so I didn’t really expect it to be anything out of the ordinary, but I was pleasantly surprised. I found myself smiling in between the sprints and climbs and loving the workout!

My friend and I goofing off on the bikes outside the stuio. No phones allowed inside the spin studio so I couldn't document the action

My friend and I recreating the action since no phones are allowed in the studio!

Having a GOOD spin instructor (and playlist!) is key to being able to enjoy the class and this one did not disappoint. She was vocal, participated with the class and was super motivational the entire time. We did push-ups on the handle bars, bicep curls and crunches– all while riding the bike. Anything the instructor expected us to do she did it right there with us.

Lights are dim in the studio during the class with only a few candles up front around the instructor. I thought this was weird– but it didn’t really make a difference for me as far as the workout.Your first ride is $20 and your shoes are included. After your first ride, the price jumps up to $30 a ride and $3 for shoe rentals. It seems a bit pricey, but I could see myself doing this once a month to switch things up and add more cardio to my routine. Even though the price seems pretty steep, they’re doing something right because there was not an empty bike in the room during our class!

My one complaint about everything is the tight quarters.

They cram 50+ bikes into one room. I was bumping elbows with my neighbor during some of the pushups–thank goodness she was my friend and not a stranger! When you walk OUT of the studio you walk into a sea of people waiting to get IN to the studio for the next class. Then the locker room area is jam packed with sweaty bodies trying to get their stuff and go home. Not ideal, but also not enough to keep me from going back.

More goofing off on the bikes outside the studio. No phones allowed inside! (I can appreciate that) :)

More goofing off on the bikes outside the studio. No phones allowed inside! (I can appreciate that) 🙂

If you’re looking to switch things up and get a great cardio workout in (and have $30 to spare) then I would highly recommend trying out Soul Cycle! Be sure to reserve your bike early, they fill up fast!

On Deck this weekend:
– Taking off and traveling to Surf City, NC for a friends wedding!
– Lots of beach sitting
– Maybe get in a run on the beach with my Dad

Happy spinning!

About Fit With Lo

I'm your average girl working as a PR professional in Washington, DC and documenting my passion for fitness, food and family. Thanks for joining me on my trek to wellness
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fitness Class Review: Soul Cycle

  1. cdicemoore says:

    Don’t know where your new post went, or if it’s just MIA on my end but I wanted to say… Welcome Back, Lo 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

