Get Moving!

I mentioned in my post yesterday that I have been MIA from my blog because of travel and being sick and being lazy. Well, that also means that I was MIA from getting any exercise in. I don’t recommend taking that much time off, but sometimes you just need a break to rest and regroup. We all go through it!

As you can imagine, the first day back after a long period of time off is always going to be painful. It’s especially bad when you get to the gym and people act like they’re seeing a ghost. Ha! Last night’s WOD was tough. It was almost as if they programmed it specifically to punish me for taking 2 weeks off. But hey, I tackled it and finished it without throwing up so I call it a success.

Burpees and running-- my two LEAST favorite things ever. In this world.

Burpees and running– my two LEAST favorite things ever. In this world.

I was browsing the inter-webs yesterday and came across this great article about the 7 Workout Habits You Should Drop that I found very informative. I don’t want to take credit for their information but I wanted to share it and encourage you to check it out.

Before I started doing CrossFit I was guilty of just about everything in that article. I’d ride the elliptical machine for an hour and call that a great workout. And yes, an hour on the elliptical is better than not working out at all— but if you REALLY want to see results you need to switch things up in your workout routine. Add circuit training to your regimen. Burpees, jump rope, lunges, etc. Mix it up! If you’re doing the same thing over and over in your workouts then you’ll eventually plateau and stop seeing results.

Here is a quick go to workout that I do every now and then at my home gym or when I’m traveling. It is a total body workout and uses the basics of exercise; no equipment necessary and it will surely get your heart rate going.

Buy In: 1 mile run
21-15-9
Air squats
situps
push ups
Buy Out: 1 mile run

Tailor the workout to your ability–walk instead of run, lunges instead of squats, whatever you want, just get moving! For those of you that don’t know, the 21-15-9 means you do that number of repetitions for each movement. So after your buy in, you do 21 squats, 21 situps, 21 pushups and then you move on to 15 repetitions for each movement and so on until you complete them all. Time yourself so you can track your progress down the road.

Tonight, I’m heading back to the gym to attack some front squats and bar muscle up skill work. I gotta keep the momentum going after taking so much time off!

Happy training!

About Fit With Lo

I'm your average girl working as a PR professional in Washington, DC and documenting my passion for fitness, food and family. Thanks for joining me on my trek to wellness
This entry was posted in CrossFit, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

