Everything is Better with Bacon

Bacon wrapped. Enough said, right? Right.

I haven’t been writing much lately because I haven’t been very “fit” lately. I’ve been missing workouts at the gym and NOT doing any sort of meal planning. BUT, I am happy to say that after a couple weeks of being out of it, I am finally getting back IN to it— my routine, that is.

This past Sunday was the first Sunday I have been home in a couple weeks and I was at the grocery store at 10am stocking up on goodies for Food Prep Sunday. I never thought I would see the day when I’d be EXCITED to go grocery shopping. Nope. Not me. My Mom and old college roommate could vouch for my hatred of grocery shopping back in the day…my how times have changed!

My local Fresh Market has great weekly deals with their meats. I got two chicken breasts stuffed with marinara sauce and cheese (not paleo) for $5.99!  They have $2 Tuesdays for regular chicken breasts, too…I just didn’t feel like waiting until today to cook! So, I got home last night and threw those bad boys in the oven to bake while I prepped my easy-to-do side. Bacon wrapped asparagus. Yum.

Nothing fancy here. But, bacon is beautiful!

Nothing fancy here. But, bacon is beautiful!

I’ve never cooked anything wrapped in bacon so I don’t have much to compare it to but I thought it was pretty dang delicous. Hard to screw up anything with bacon, though. Check out the recipe:

Ingredients
– Bundle of Asparagus
– Balsamic Vinaigrette
– Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO)
– Salt & Pepper
– Bacon (duh)

Heat the oven to 400 degrees and coat your baking sheet with EVOO. Rinse the asparagus and then cut the ends off each piece. Divide the asparagus up into bundles and sprinkle with balsamic vin and salt & pepper. Wrap 5-8 pieces of asparagus in bacon and place on baking sheet. Cook for 15 minutes, then use tongs to flip the bundles and cook for another 10-15 minutes. Depending on how thick your bacon is you may need to adjust the cooking times. Cook thinner bacon for 10 minutes on each side.

While I don’t enjoy the fact that my apartment still smells like bacon, I did enjoy 2 bundles of this with my chicken last night. And I will probably enjoy the leftovers tonight! I’m not very good at the presentation side of cooking, so I don’t have any pictures of what it looked like once it was on my plate. I’ll work on that.

Hey runners! Cas is coming back this week! She ran the Army Ten Miler this weekend and has some AWESOME news to share- stay tuned!

Happy bacon wrapping y’all!

 

About Fit With Lo

I'm your average girl working as a PR professional in Washington, DC and documenting my passion for fitness, food and family. Thanks for joining me on my trek to wellness
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Everything is Better with Bacon

  1. colourmeglam says:

    I couldn’t agree more! Bacon makes everything better and I can’t wait to try this new recipe, thanks Lo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

