Tuesday Shmuesday

Yesterday was Tuesday but it had the symptoms of a classic Monday.  You could say it was a low down no good kind of day. The kind where when it’s FINALLY time to go home at the end of the day, all you can think of doing is crawling into bed and putting it all behind you. That was my plan.

Until my fabulous coworker convinced me to go for a run with her. “You’ll feel so much better afterwards, you really will” she said “we can just do a quick 3 miles and then you can go home!” So I said fiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiine, laced up my shoes and hit the pavement.

As much as I hate to admit it, she was right. I was SO glad she forced me out of my rut. It wasn’t a fast run and it wasn’t my strongest run, but you know what? I got out there and I did it and it took my mind off the crummy day I had and helped me to readjust my attitude.

See, this is me running so fast that everything is blurry!

See, this is me running so fast that everything is blurry!

I think a lot of people that live in DC take for granted the fact that they live in DC. Don’t get me wrong it’s not always sunshine and butterflies– the  the Presidential Motorcade was cool the first time I saw it but now it’s just a fancy way of saying traffic jam– but man, do we have some beautiful scenery and running routes. We ran from our office to the Washington Monument, which is 3 miles there and back. But when you’re running around the Washington Monument you can’t help but see the WWII Memorial, the Reflecting Pool and the Lincoln Memorial off in the distance…and it’s just beautiful.

I’ve run a few races around DC before and did a lot of my training runs for the MCM in DC, but for some reason I really appreciated my city and its beauty last night.

Hello, beautiful!

Hello, beautiful!

The combination of the great weather, great scenery and great company  made for a great evening activity that rates MUCH higher than sitting on my couch. I’m glad I did it. Has anyone EVER regretted a workout? No. (That is another thing I tell myself when I’m lacking motivation.)

Get out there and get moving folks. Many articles report it, personal trainers swear by it, and here I am blogging about it: Physical activity really does get your endorphins going and will make you a much happier person.

I think I see more of these monumental runs (see what I did there?!) in my future. I gotta take advantage of the beautiful scenery and appreciate Gods beauty more often!

Happy sight seeing/running y’all!

About Fit With Lo

I'm your average girl working as a PR professional in Washington, DC and documenting my passion for fitness, food and family. Thanks for joining me on my trek to wellness
This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tuesday Shmuesday

  1. Jrach says:

    Sounds like a great way to end the day!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

