Guest Blogger: 30th Running of the Army Ten Miler

Hi everyone, Cas is back!

Sorry I have been a little MIA but I get a bit lazy at night during marathon training.

 On Sunday morning I ran the Army Ten Miler. It was the 30th anniversary of the race and it was a perfect day for a run. The ATM is one of my favorite races because the course is mostly flat and FAST.  The race coordinators switched things up a little this year and changed the ending of the course to where you kind of run around the Pentagon to get to the finish line, but I think it was a nice improvement.

I was so nervous before the race! Over the past few weeks I have been wondering if all this hard work–tempo runs, speed workouts and long runs– is really working? On Sunday I found out YES, it is working!

My husband got this shot of me racing toward the finish line!

My husband got this shot of me racing toward the finish line!

I ran the Army Ten Miler and had a huge PR. I finished the race in 1:12:23.  (The course was a smidge over 10 miles because my watch had me at 1:11 at mile 10 but I guess I have to go by “official” time!) I finished 1,536 out of 35,000 people! I don’t say this to be boastful; I say this because I am extremely excited with how I did and am so happy to see the hard work paying off. I know I will never WIN a big race like this, but when you put so much time and energy into something I think you should celebrate your personal victories.

My best PR yet!

My best PR yet!

I have to say that I have the best husband, family and friends. They are so damn supportive and encouraging. I actually think I could do an entire post on their support because it helps so much when you are training for a race. They were awesome on Sunday and made my PR that much more enjoyable.

Me and my Husband after I ran the ATM

Me and my Husband after I ran the ATM

On Deck: The Marine Corps Marathon! There are NINE more days until the big race I’ve really been training for, and the best part of my marathon training is that I am enjoying it! Actually…I am loving it!

I can’t wait to come back after the marathon and blog about my training program and what worked for me. Maybe it will help someone else who is training for their next race. Until then, I’ll be out pounding the pavement!

Note from Lo: I can’t begin to explain how proud I am of this gal and her success with running! She has put in the work and she is seeing the results– YOU GO GIRL! For those of you that are interested, I will be cheering Cas along the race route for the MCM and will be live tweeting using the hashtag #SeeCasRun. Follow me @fitwithlo to see how she is doing…and maybe get a few shots of me and Cas’s husband chugging some mimosas!

About Fit With Lo

I'm your average girl working as a PR professional in Washington, DC and documenting my passion for fitness, food and family. Thanks for joining me on my trek to wellness
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

