Gear Review: FlipBelt

Ready, set, flip.

So, I’m kind of sort of getting back into this running thing. Slowly, but surely……eventually.

Since I’m running around DC and it’s getting darker out earlier, I have decided to be responsible and carry my phone with me on my runs. I’ve never liked running with my phone because working out is the one part of my day when I can disconnect and not be bothered by emails or texts. I know, I know…what if I have some kind of emergency, or what if I just get lazy and decide to call an Uber? I get it. As annoying as it is to ALWAYS be connected to the world, I suppose it could have its benefits as well.

I bought this handy dandy thing called the FlipBelt. Ever heard of it? I hadn’t until one of my friends bought one last year at a race expo and told me about it. It’s this singular, tubular waistband contraption that swill securely hold your keys, phone, money and anything else you want to bring with you on your run–or any other type of exercise you’re doing. You keep the items secure because once you load up the belt, you flip it over so all of the openings are against your body so things won’t fall out.

Flipbelt.com

Flipbelt.com

I tried mine out last night for the first time and I think I like it. It sits on my hips, which I like, rather than up around my waist. I don’t think it looks all too flattering (adds a smidge extra around my already big hips) but I’m not really worried about how I look when I’m running so I’m fine with it. I don’t look like this when I run, so all is good.

I did notice it ride up a little as I was running, but it wasn’t terribly uncomfortable. I ordered a large and wonder if I could have gotten away with a medium instead. I’d rather the belt be a little loose than too tight and give me the dreaded muffin top. I ran with my phone and my keys; it comes with a hook that you can clip your keys on so they don’t move around while you’re running. My phone slide around a little, but it’s flat so I didn’t even notice it. My keys stayed hooked in place! I got a bright orange one because I think it can also be used as a reflector for when I’m running in the dark. Plus, I just really like bright things.

Knock Knock, who's there? Orange. Orange, who? Orange you glad I got this FlipBelt?!

Knock Knock. Who’s there? Orange. Orange, who? Orange you glad I got this FlipBelt?!

When I ran the marathon last year I carried a handheld water bottle that had a small pocket for my phone and jelly beans and I wish I would have discovered the FlipBelt instead. It frees up your hands and allows you to load up the belt without it being too bulky on your run. If you’re looking for ways to carry your junk with you on your runs without it being a CamelBak or something to have to physically hold, then I would give this bad boy a shot! (Also, I ordered mine on Amazon and got it in 2 days with Prime shipping!)

Flipbelt.com

Flipbelt.com

Now, does anyone out there have or use a FitBit? Is it better than the Nike Fuel Band? I appreciate your thoughts!

Happy flipping y’all!

About Fit With Lo

I'm your average girl working as a PR professional in Washington, DC and documenting my passion for fitness, food and family. Thanks for joining me on my trek to wellness
This entry was posted in Gear, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gear Review: FlipBelt

  1. fitfor365 says:

    The flipbelt sounds good.

    Like

  2. Cool. I have a hipssister … your’s seems to be a bit more slim. hmmmm.

    Like

  3. Marcia says:

    Lauren – I have the UP24 by Jawbone. LOVE it. Never take it off except when I shower. Keeps me motivated to do at least 10,000 steps a day. Hugs.

    Like

    • Fit With Lo says:

      Thanks Aunt Marcia! I used to have an UP band but the battery died on me after a month and when they sent me a new one under warranty…the new one did the same thing! Have you had any issues with the battery life on it?

      Like

Leave a Reply

