Zembiec Memorial WOD

Ok, ok…blogging is hard to keep up with on a regular basis. Especially when you have a fitness blog and you haven’t exactly been practicing what you preach the last couple of weeks. Forgive me! Regardless, the month of May has been particularly active for me, so far– let’s hope I can keep it up!

Last Saturday I went up to Gaithersburg, MD to participate in a Memorial WOD fundraiser at CrossFit Hardshells. My friend is a member there and the fundraiser was in honor of her late husband, Major Doug Zembiec, USMC. He was killed in Iraq on May 11th, 2007– eight years ago today– leaving behind his wife Pam and their daughter Fallyn. You should Google the guy and see what comes up about him, he was a one of a kind Marine.

Capt. Doug Zembiec, the commanding officer of Company E, 2nd Battalion, 1st Marine Regiment, 1st Marine Division, gives orders to his men over a radio prior to leaving their secured compound for a short patrol in Fallujah, Iraq April 8, 2004.The company entered Fallujah April 6 to begin the effort of destroying enemy holded up in the city. (Official USMC photo by Sgt. Jose E. Guillen)

Capt. Doug Zembiec, the commanding officer of Company E, 2nd Battalion, 1st Marine Regiment, 1st Marine Division, gives orders to his men over a radio prior to leaving their secured compound for a short patrol in Fallujah, Iraq April 8, 2004.The company entered Fallujah April 6 to begin the effort of destroying enemy holded up in the city. (Official USMC photo by Sgt. Jose E. Guillen)

In 2014 CrossFit Headquarters created a Hero WOD in his honor. So on Saturday, CrossFit Hardshells teamed up with PS Charities to host this Memorial WOD fundraiser. There were 5 different heats for the workout, you could do the workout as prescribed or scaled– it was a great turnout, I think there were at least 50 people there. The money raised through this fundraiser is going to help build a low mortgage home for a young Marine Veteran and his family. PS Charities had shirts made, they had AWESOME raffle items, and prizes for the people with the fastest times in both Rx and scaled divisions. It was an awesome day to do this tough workout in honor of such a great man.

“Zembiec”
Rx
5 Rounds
11 Back Squat (185/125)
7 burpee strict pull ups
400m run

Scaled:
5 Rounds
11 Back squat (65#)
7 burpees
7 jumping pull ups
400m run

On paper it doesn’t look too bad, right? Especially the scaled version, right? Wrong. My strategy for the workout was to just not die. I finished in 24:45 and think I could have shaved off a minute or two if I would have really hustled on the run, but sadly- the run was my recovery time! I thought I would be able to tack on 85# for the squat (65# is relatively easy for me) but then I realized that I would be doing 55 squats on top of the burpees and jumping and running– and I don’t care who you are, that is just a lot of stress on your legs. Especially out of shape legs like mine!

Some of the folks in my heat after the workout. Majority of the guys in the back row served with Doug at one point or another, it was great they came out to support.

Some of the folks in my heat after the workout. Majority of the guys in the back row served with Doug at one point or another, it was great they came out to support.

CrossFit Hardshells and PS Charities did a great job putting this fundraiser together! The atmosphere was great, everyone in attendance wanted to support Pam and honor Doug– all for a great cause.

In addition to my CrossFitting, I’ve been hitting the pavement with my running. I haven’t done any LONG runs yet, but I’m getting in to a routine of early mornings runs a couple times a week and I’m really starting to enjoy it. I don’t think I will enjoy having to run 10 miles in the morning (week 15 of my training plan!) but a quick 3-3.5 in the morning is a good way to start the day! I’ve still got a few weeks until my training officially starts and I think I need to kick it into gear with the mileage. Some mornings I’m lazy and just run for 20 minutes– 10 minutes out and 10 minutes in. Now that it’s becoming more a routine for me, I’ll start to focus on the miles and increasing them along the way.

This summer is going to be a great one– lot’s of activities planned and lots of training to focus on! Change comes in seasons and I’m ready for summer to hit!

 

About Fit With Lo

I'm your average girl working as a PR professional in Washington, DC and documenting my passion for fitness, food and family. Thanks for joining me on my trek to wellness
This entry was posted in CrossFit, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

