Cauliflower Fried Rice (sort of)

I slept in until 7am this morning! That never happens! Then I laced up my shoes and hit the streets. I logged my easy 3 miles even though I told myself I would run 4. Last night I thought to myself “push and run 4 miles, 3 is too easy for you now” but running 3 miles in the morning is not easy for me and I can’t figure out why. I can’t tell if it’s just adjusting to the heat and humidity, something to do with my fueling or if I’m just feeling sluggish because I haven’t had any coffee yet. I’ve always preferred to workout in the evenings…I have more energy then and can work off the stresses of the day. But when the heat index is 105 and the humidity is at about 80%, it’s best to be smart and do it in the morning. So, I did. And it was hard but I got it done.

I ended up working from home this afternoon because of some car trouble and that ended up working in my favor because I’ve got an article to write for my company magazine covering the Warrior Games and the Cycling Classic we had a couple weekends ago. I do better with my writing when I don’t have distractions and I’ve always got distractions at work. So, I got a big chunk of that taken care of today.

Anyway. The whole point of this post is to tell you all about the cauliflower fried rice I made! Remember in my last post how I was talking about how I’m into everything easy right now when it comes to cooking? Well, that is exactly how I would describe this “recipe”. Easy peasy.

What you need:

– Coconut Oil
– Frozen bag of cauliflower rice
– Frozen bag of organic mixed veggies
– Low sodium soy sauce
– Tessamaes Lemon Garlic dressing
– Salt & pepper
– 3 cloves garlic
– Onion powder (or a real onion if you’re not a weirdo like me that doesn’t like onions)

Not pictured: Bag of organic frozen veggies and garlic cloves,

Not pictured: majority of the other ingredients

What you do:

Grease the pan with the coconut oil and throw the frozen cauliflower rice in along with half the bag of veggies. Seal the veggies back up and save the rest for another time! Add the garlic, salt, pepper and lemon garlic dressing. Stir it up for a little bit and then cover for 5 minutes. Remove cover and pour in the soy sauce– I’m not good at measurements here so do what you think your tastebuds would like. Same goes for the lemon garlic dressing. Stir it up and cover again to let it simmer for about 15 minutes, stirring every now and then. Voila! You have the easiest cauliflower fried rice you could imagine. 

This isn’t a paleo recipe or a Whole30 compliant recipe, but it’s still healthy. The frozen veggies didn’t have any added junk to them and were organic. No heavy starches and the chicken I added to the meal helped add some protein. The soy sauce was relatively healthy since it is from Trader Joes and low sodium and the lemon garlic sauce was 100% clean from Tessamaes. We can still enjoy healthy foods while stepping outside of the lines every now and then. 

IMG_1129

Frozen goodies

I use the term recipe loosely with this since I kind of just picked stuff and threw it into the pan to heat up. Next time I may try to scramble up an egg and throw that in there, too. I heated up some of the crockpot beer chicken I made the other night and threw that on top of the rice once it was complete. A yummy and EASY early dinner/late lunch since I had some free time this evening! Hope y’all will enjoy too!

Final product! Glad I remembered to snap this before I started to tear into it

Final product! Glad I remembered to snap this before I started to tear into it

We found out this week that the track we use for our speed work isn’t going to be open to the public anymore. While we try to find another location to have practice at I think we’re just going to run hill repeats tomorrow. I’ve never done that with the club before so I don’t know exactly what it is but I’m sure it’s some form of sprinting up a hill and repeating that multiple times. Should be fun. I will write about that later this weekend!

Happy hill running and easy cooking, y’all!

About Fit With Lo

I'm your average girl working as a PR professional in Washington, DC and documenting my passion for fitness, food and family. Thanks for joining me on my trek to wellness
This entry was posted in Food, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

