Running Diary Entry 4: Hill Repeats

Hill repeats. Also known as pure misery.

I am really digging my running group! (Who am I?!?!) I think I’ve told you before that on Wednesday nights we meet at the track to do speed work, right? Well right now we are looking for a new track to do that at. The one we were supposed to work on all summer is being resurfaced or something so we’re trying to find a new one. In the mean time our track coach made us do hill repeats last night. What are hill repeats you ask? Hill repeats are 4 miles of straight misery. But I loved it! Once we were done of course. I don’t know why I enjoy punishing myself when it comes to physical fitness.

The hill is 400m, so you would sprint (or just try not to die) up hill and the down hill would be your recovery time. One up hill run and one downhill run was half a mile and one round. We had to run 8 rounds

Hill Repeats

Sprint: 400m up hill 
Recovery: 400m down hill
8 Rounds

Thank the GOOD Lord that the heat index was not 105 degrees last night otherwise I think most of the group would have legit died. The first 4 rounds I was able to maintain a 2:46 pace up the hill. Not great, but I’m a work in progress! I slowed down a couple seconds on the last 4 rounds of it, but my last set I REALLY pushed it on the up hill part and shaved off 5 seconds and had a 2:41 pace. Then I almost threw up at the top of the hill. It was an awesome workout!

This weekend is a 7 mile long run. Thankfully, next weekend is a recovery weekend and my mileage drops down to 5 miles. I don’t want to have to run a ton after the 4th of July AND 30th birthday celebrations!

Stay tuned…I’ve got a Year of Fear post coming up soon!

Happy hill repeats y’all!

About Fit With Lo

I'm your average girl working as a PR professional in Washington, DC and documenting my passion for fitness, food and family. Thanks for joining me on my trek to wellness
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running Diary Entry 4: Hill Repeats

  1. ishouldrun says:

    I’ve got hills with run team today. But hearing how you went uphill 8 times is motivating me for tonight. We did 4 miles but only half of it was the hill sprint part. The more advanced runners did more repeats but I chickened out and did the bare minimum. In my defense, I thought my heart was going to explode out of my body. Hill sprints are no joke! It’s like you said about wanting to throw up. Awful at the time but afterwards it was the most proud I’ve been about a training run in a long time!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

